Author Topic: Test Enviroment  (Read 1957 times)

Davide77

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Test Enviroment
« on: November 20, 2017, 09:34:20 AM »
Dear all, I create a Lab to test wanos like describe in this link http://wanos.co/wan-optimization/virtual-wan-optimization-esxi-lab-guide/

Connecting trought the local1 and local 2 vlan with the two wanos appliance connected on the wan the ftp test result really slow than connect directly the server and the client on the same vlan. So what was wrong during this test?


JohnNicholas

  • Team Wanos
  • Contributor
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Test Enviroment
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 10:06:25 AM »
Quote
the ftp test result really slow than connect directly the server and the client on the same vlan

Your WAN simulation is really slow compared the LAN test. 100% expected result.
CCNA

NorbertR

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Test Enviroment
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2017, 01:01:53 PM »
Hi John, why is that expected result? How do you improve the speed in this situation?

lmolina

  • Team Wanos
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Test Enviroment
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2018, 07:06:54 AM »
Hi,

Here's a great read regarding the difference between the two which coincides with John's response.

https://www.diffen.com/difference/LAN_vs_WAN

Hi John, why is that expected result? How do you improve the speed in this situation?
MCP

Note: Forum posts may be outdated. Please see wanos.co/docs for more recent info.

JohnNicholas

  • Team Wanos
  • Contributor
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Test Enviroment
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2018, 08:57:00 PM »
Hi NorbertR,

When testing on the same vlan the test would run at LAN speeds e.g. 1 Gbps. When testing through Wanos with the default license the test speed will be 1 Mbps WAN simulation. The 1 Mbps limit is imposed by the license after compression. So the end to end speed might be 10 Mbps, but on the WAN 1 Mbps is allowed.

Taking out the WAN Simulation and running the test on the same VLAN is going to produce LAN speeds, so the result as described by the OP is expected.
CCNA