Author Topic: QOS Settings  (Read 8288 times)

khiloc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
QOS Settings
« on: May 27, 2015, 11:33:05 AM »
Hello,

After your help for setting up both end devices, i am on the way setting up QOS.
Here is what i got as available bandwidth:
Branch > HQ : 180 kbps
HQ > branch : 300 kbps

when i try to insert rules it says to limit trafic between 2 cisco call managers to 40 Kbps (for SIP trunk link) and it does not allow me to write anything in shape box.



« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 11:46:21 AM by khiloc »

ahenning

  • Team Wanos
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2015, 11:35:44 AM »
There is an error displayed at the bottom: Invalid mask.

If you just want to configure the host, use a /32.
CCIE RS, CCIE SP, Mnet&sys

Note: Forum posts may be outdated. Please see the latest documentation at wanos.co/docs

ahenning

  • Team Wanos
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2015, 11:49:25 AM »
Moved this to troubleshooting.

Ok, After the last edit, the Default QoS action does not have a shaper. To add a shape value, select Shape from the drop down.
CCIE RS, CCIE SP, Mnet&sys

Note: Forum posts may be outdated. Please see the latest documentation at wanos.co/docs

khiloc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2015, 11:54:42 AM »
Ok
Choose shape in drop down but still not able to write in


ahenning

  • Team Wanos
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2015, 12:08:00 PM »
Ok got it. It happens when the default class-1 is a Shaper. To resolve this please leave class-1 = Default.

Remember to tick bypass when configuring UDP policies (unless optimization is intended).
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 12:13:54 PM by ahenning »
CCIE RS, CCIE SP, Mnet&sys

Note: Forum posts may be outdated. Please see the latest documentation at wanos.co/docs

khiloc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2015, 12:20:25 PM »
OK,
But I want class1 also to be shaping….??
and i also need UDP traffic to be optimized....

ahenning

  • Team Wanos
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2015, 12:22:48 PM »
Class-1 is a number, it can be any number.
CCIE RS, CCIE SP, Mnet&sys

Note: Forum posts may be outdated. Please see the latest documentation at wanos.co/docs

khiloc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2015, 12:34:01 PM »
Even this don't work


khiloc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2015, 12:35:13 PM »
OK OK OK
Got it working

just deleted the previous qos rules i just added.
and recreate them but now my custom policies are starting at 3...and i am able to add the UDP shaping policy....

khiloc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2015, 12:41:30 PM »
Ok
so the first 2 default rules, what does they really mean?

1 = does it mean that anything not defined in custom rules is process as QOS high, but bypass the optimization engine?
2- All encrypted traffis, https and stuff are all ignore by optimization engine?
??

ahenning

  • Team Wanos
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2015, 12:53:20 PM »
Rules are matched in sequence like an ACL.
1) Interactive e.g. telnet (hover to see full list). High priority and bypassed.
2) Yes. Encrypted protocols are bypassed and in Default priority.
CCIE RS, CCIE SP, Mnet&sys

Note: Forum posts may be outdated. Please see the latest documentation at wanos.co/docs

khiloc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2015, 04:43:33 PM »
Encrypted protocols can't be optimized?

If they can : what if I want to optimize them?

ahenning

  • Team Wanos
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: QOS Settings
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2015, 10:51:06 AM »
Encrypted data cannot be compressed or deduped, else it would not be secure. Encrypted data can be decrypted, then compressed. At the moment (v2.0.5) Wanos does not do decryption.

If you want to optimize secure or interactive protocols, the protocol can be removed from the group objects. Packet Loss recovery and Order correction can be applied to improve throughput.
CCIE RS, CCIE SP, Mnet&sys

Note: Forum posts may be outdated. Please see the latest documentation at wanos.co/docs